May 20th Webinar on "Clobber" Passages in the Bible






























Cream and Olive Green Bible Study Church

Six Bible verses (kind of) talk about homosexuality, but are often misinterpreted.  Rev. Dr. Harvey Martz and Rev. Joe Miller, Jr., will lead a Zoom Webinar on “Examining the ‘Clobber’ Passages:  A Scriptural Way Forward for United Methodism” on Thursday, May 20, 2021, from 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. (Mountain).  Rev. Dr. Valerie Jackson will serve as moderator.


Registration is free but you can join UMARC as a sponsor with a gift of at least $50:  click HERE to be a sponsor. 


Every registrant will receive a free copy of Walter Wink’s “Homosexuality and the Bible.” 

Members To Gather With Bishop Karen Oliveto

BYOB Graphic Picnic.png

Fully vaccinated UMARC members and spouses will reunite on Saturday, May 22, for a picnic after a long pandemic season of COVID-19.  Bishop Karen Oliveto and her wife Robin Ridenour will be our special guests!  


Newly retired pastors/partners will also be invited.   Advance registration required at


BYOB—Bring Your Own Basket—

(food, drink, chair,  & umbrella)

to St. Andrew UMC parking lot in Highlands Ranch for this outside event.

Rev. Dr. Harvey Martz,  Rev. Dr. Valerie Jackson, Rev. Joe Miller Jr. 

Trouble with Registration or Webinar Link?  Please email our Administrative Coordinator, Amy Hawthorne, 

Participating in PRIDE Events

Most Pride Parades will still be virtual this year, but UMARC encourages member participation not only in Denver, Colorado Springs, Grand Junction, Salt Lake, Billings, Cheyenne and elsewhere around the world!


We hope to have a short video from UMARC that will be posted here and can be shared at various Pride events!  For more information, contact Rev. Linda Gertenbach at

Looking Ahead—Inclusiveness IV--Saturday, November 20, 2021

UMARC Photos ONLY.png

On Saturday, November 20th, we envision a virtual and actual “Inclusiveness V:  Moving Toward A New Future.”  


Inclusiveness and racial justice do not inevitably happen.  We need to join in God's loving liberation of all humanity.  Help us bend the moral arc of the universe by creating a church that neither discriminates nor excludes. 

** Posted information is from our 2020   Conference

Click to Access Various Videos from the 2020 Conference Listed Below. 

This Three-Part Webinar Series is Available to View

in Part Below. What an amazing time of education and connection. 

A special thanks to our speakers, sponsors and participants!

Retired Clergy Urged to Perform Same - Sex Weddings

"Let's Talk:  LGBTQ+ Weddings" webinar from July 15th, 2020

Laity and clergy participated in an online forum to explore how pastors and local church members might prepare for same-gender weddings in their sanctuary.  Questions of liturgy, pre-marital counseling, use of language, communication, etc., were discussed.  This webinar was sponsored by the United Methodist Association of Retired Clergy & Friends and the Mountain Sky Queer Clergy Caucus. 

Speakers for this Webinar included two leading Mountain Sky Area United Methodist clergy, Rev. Sharon Langfeldt and Rev. Angie Kotzmoyer.  Our speakers were also joined by Rev. Dr. Donald E Messer, Moderator, and a panel of key leaders.

Quilt Image (2).png

UMARC members are joining retired clergy across the denomination in offering their services to perform same-sex weddings.  Click HERE to add your name to the growing movement to reduce harm and move the church to inclusiveness. 


UMARC Chair, Dr. Donald E. Messer, is a member of the national Resist Harm committee encouraging prophetic witness and pastoral service, in contrast to the traditionalist polity.  Retired pastors risk complaints and trials, but severe penalties can be administered to active faithful pastors living in areas where bishops are intent on enforcing the Discipline no matter how punitive and exclusive.  

2021 Revised Social Principles Postponed

UMARC Partners with Resist Harm

**Click on the image below to learn more.

Resist Harm Image.png

"With General Conference postponed until August 2022, we will have to wait another year until the top law-making body of the church meets to make changes to the Book of Discipline. But what does that mean for the revised Social Principles?"

Read more, published in Church & Society HERE
Comprehensive Listing of Key UM News Articles
*Click NEWS Image*

Until legislation is passed removing the harmful restrictions currently embodied in the UM Discipline, active efforts must continue to resist, reduce, and mitigate the harm imposed by the Traditionalist agenda. 

Don Professional Photo 2019 (3).jpg
John Blinn .jpg
Dave and Chris.jpg
Youngsook Kang.jpg
ben roe.jpg
julian rush and Izzy (3).jpeg
Kay Palmer Marsh 2020.jpg
Annie .jpg

Steering Committee Members (Photos Left to Right):

Don Messer - Chair, Harvey Martz - Vice Chair

John Blinn - Treasurer, Dave Ferguson, Chris Ferguson,

Linda Gertenbach, Youngsook Kang, Marla Kauerz, Kay Palmer-Marsh,

Liwliwa Robledo, Ben Roe,  Julian Rush, Annie Arnoldy - Advisor